Wed 16.5.2018 at 19:00 Kotka Concert Hall
Thu 17.5.2018 at 19:00 Kuusankoski Hall

Take your seat and join us on a voyage round the world. Our soloist is Tadashi Tajima from Japan, a true master of the traditional Japanese sakuhachi flute. Toshio Hosokawa, one of Japan’s most celebrated composers, wrote Voyage X specifically for Tajima. Our journey nevertheless begins in America, with some colourful film music by Aaron Copland. On the way, we stop for a while at a musical oasis – music by Einojuhani Rautavaara – before Schubert’s sunny, effervescent Symphony no. 3.


Aaron Copland:                 
Film music

Toshio Hosokawa:             
Voyage X - Nozarashi for shakuhachi and ensemble

Einojuhani Rautavaara:     
Adagio Celeste

Franz Schubert:                 
Symphony No. 3


Yasuo Shinozaki
Yasuo Shinozaki


Tadashi Tajima, shakuhachi-flute
Tadashi Tajima, shakuhachi-flute

Tickets: €21/16/8