Autumn 2021
Kotka Concert Hall
Kuusankoski Hall
Erkki Lasonpalo
Arttu Takalo, vibraphone
Mongo Aaltonen, percussion


Arttu Takalo: Double Concerto for Percussion and Vibraphone, world premiere (a Kymi Sinfonietta commission)
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade (arr. Jani Kyllönen)

A concert of powerful, colourful emotions and stories! The Kymi Sinfonietta commissioned multi- musician and composer Arttu Takalo (a native of Kouvola) to write a work to be premiered at this concert. An eminent vibraphonist, he is one of the soloists in this Concerto for Percussion and Vibraphone. The other soloist is Tapio “Mongo” Aaltonen, a guy familiar from many celebrated line-ups and a wizard on all kinds of percussion. The other number on the programme is a rare treat. Scheherazade, the magical, stunning suite by Russian composer Rimsky-Korsakov, has not previously been heard in this part of Finland, so it will now be a joy to hear it in an arrangement made by Jani Kyllönen. With us to conduct this exotic piece inspired by one of the ‘Tales from the 1001 Nights’ is much-sought-after conductor, Erkki Lasonpalo.

NOTE: The programme for this concert is subject to alteration should the Covid restrictions still be
in force. In this case, only the Kotka concert will be held.