Autumn 2021
Kotkan Concert Hall
Kuusankoski Hall
Olari Elts
Jonathan Roozeman, cello

Fanny Hensel-Mendelssohn: Overture in C
Kalevi Aho: Cello Concerto No. 2
Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 3 ‘Scottish’

This concert is packed with grand emotions and virtuoso vigour. Kalevi Aho draws on the cello’s tremendous potential in his second Cello Concerto. Its singing legato and virtuosic energy will be conjured forth by Jonathan Roozeman, one of the Finnish cellists at present most in demand in the world. Felix Mendelssohn and Fanny Hensel-Mendelssohn were not only brother and sister; they were also a partnership of immensely musical talents. Though Fanny is nowadays one of the best-known female composers, her Overture in C was not published until 1994. A little gem, it is full of captivating musical charm. The third symphony by her brother Felix impressively unfolds a vision of Scotland’s majestic scenery and illustrious history. Olari Elts will conduct the concert.

NOTE: The programme for this concert is subject to alteration should the Covid restrictions still be
in force. In this case, only the Kotka concert will be held.