Spring 2022
Kotka Concert Hall
Kuusankoski Hall
Dimas Ruiz Santos
Essi Höglund

Ida Moberg: Landtlig dans (Country Dance)
Antonín Dvořák: Romance in F Minor Op. 11, B. 39

György Ligeti: Concert românesc
Franz Schubert: Symphony No. 6 in C Major, D. 589

Mounting the podium for this concert is the Kymi Sinfonietta’s own oboist-conductor Dimas Ruiz Santos. The works he has chosen bear echoes of folk music while also delving right to the roots of music; how have classical composers borrowed ideas from folk music? One interesting highlight is the Country Dance by one of Finland’s earliest symphonists, Ida Moberg. Dvořák’s Romance for violin and orchestra, Ligeti’s Concert românesc in wild Romanian folk vein, and Schubert’s sixth symphony, bursting with joie de vivre guarantee a feel-good concert evening.

€25/ 20/ 11